Cairns Branch


Executive for 2017
President: Anne Linneman Vice President: Paula MIichalski
Secretary: Jane Linstead Treasurer: Koko Julian
Patrons: Dorothy Langtree, Stella Massey


The Branch draws its members from the culturally diverse areas of the Cairns area including Mossman in the north, Atherton Tablelands to the west and Innisfail and Silkwood in the south.

Something magical about the ‘Tropics’ has drawn artistically talented people to visit, live and work in the area for many years. Combined with the local’s passion to do their best and give their all, Cairns has a host of avenues that can be accessed by students for training and performance to a very high standard. These include: the Junior Eisteddfod, Classical Music Group, Choral Society, Brass bands, orchestras, youth choirs, theatre companies, dance studios, school arts departments, artists and crafts. Many of our members are involved in these groups as well. 

Professional Development

During the year visiting and invited presenters hold workshops for the benefit of all members. Members often travel south to attend conferences such as the Australasian Piano Pedagogy Conference, Alan Lane Memorial Workshops and the Australian Flute Festival.

Student Opportunities

In 2017 the inaugural Junior Bursary auditions will be held in March. The Junior Bursary is open to students in Year 7 in 2017. The winner will be invited to perform at the March Classical Music Group Concert
A Student concert is held in June to provide an opportunity for students to perform in a friendly environment. This may be a practice performance for exams or the Eisteddfod.

2016’s student concert was a huge success with over 40 students performing.  Performers ranged in age from 6 to 16.  Students performed a very entertaining program on piano, violin, cello & flute.    We look forward to another entertaining concert on June 4 this year
In October/November each year auditions are held for the Music Bursary. Year 12 students who intend to continue their music studies the following year are encouraged to audition. The Cairns Classical Music Group kindly contributes financially to the Prize money.

2016 Year 12 Bursary winners: 1st Dayna Johnston (clarinet), 2nd Anthony Tsai (piano).  
The winners also performed at the October Classical Music Group Concert

Cairns Winter Music School

The Cairns Winter Music School is site an annual adult orchestral workshop and performance opportunity that attracts orchestral musicians from across Australia. 2017 will be our 6th year.


Contact Information

P O Box 144, Westcourt. 4870

President: Anne Linneman, Phone: 4056 2055, Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.